Author Spotlight · Interview with an Author

Interview with an Author featuring Ophelia Lockheart

The Literary Vixen presents…

Joining us today is Ophelia Lockheart! Her debut book, Songbird in a Storm: A captivating 1920s time travel romance (Songbird Series Book 1) released on February 27th 2022.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Hi! I’m Ophelia Lockheart, a British author from the south coast of England. I write suspenseful, angsty time travel romance set in 1920’s London, and my debut novel: Songbird in a Storm has just released!

Congrats on your new debut release! How has the new release been going for you?

It has been so incredibly exciting! I’ve been engaging with the writing community and they’ve been so welcoming! I’ve made a bunch of new friends (here’s looking at you Vixen 😉) and I’ve also received a ton of great reviews. Life is so good right now and I can see releasing books becoming very addictive!

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing since childhood. My mum was an avid reader and while she’d sit in her reading nook, I’d compile stories to read to her.

Describe a typical writing day.

I start everyday tending to my three completely bonkers children and then while they’re at school I write. I tend to write most of my words in the morning while my brain is at its most creative and then spend the afternoon researching, reading and learning about craft, and also indulging in way too much social media—it’s my vice lol!

Where do you get your inspiration for your books?

Songbird in a Storm is set in the 1920s and I’ve loved this period since a school GCSE art deco project I did way back in… (well, a very long time ago 😉   

I draw inspiration from everywhere. Songbird has been likened to Outlander and Peaky Blinders which are both shows I love (though my youngest watches a lot of Peppa Pig so I’m really hoping that annoying piglet doesn’t infiltrate my creative brain lol!). 

What do you hope your readers take away from this book?

The importance of family and community is a thread that runs deeply throughout Songbird in a Storm. When Roseanna finds herself thrown back to 1921she is something of a lone wolf but, as was common in the 1920s, she learns that community can become family. There is a strength in togetherness that runs deeper than only blood.

What is the significance of the title?

Roseanna becomes a pub singer in one of Daniel Alderman’s businesses. The idea is that she’ll help him look for his brother’s killer, and this will place her where she might be able to identify the person responsible. Danny ends up nicknaming her Songbird. Roses is caught up in a storm as soon as she arrives in 1921. She witnesses Danny’s brother’s murder and there are other problems that were prolific at the time such as drugs and organised crime. Not to mention Danny is London’s most ruthless gangster.

 If you had to describe yourself in three words, what would they be?

Introvert, caring and a bit morbid!

What was the highlight of writing this book?

I just loved learning about the customs and details of this period. Like, where the saying ‘piss poor’ came from. Funeral customs… did you know a person would actually watch over the dead until they were buried? Or, as a self confessed foodie, the things people  would eat. Tongue sandwich anyone? Lol! I feel like I’ve learned so much and have tried to make this book as richly detailed as possible while still delivering a romance that will make your heart swell.

Are you working on anything at the present you would like to share with me?

I just finished the second book in this series, Captive Songbird, which will release next month 🙂

What advice would you give to other authors?

Keep going! Holding the finished book in your hands is like no other feeling.

What is the one thing you want people to know about you and your books?

They’re angsty! This book is crammed full of tension on every page. If you have a heart condition… don’t say you weren’t warned 😉

Thank you Ophelia Lockheart for chatting with me! I will include her information down below. Check out her newest release, Songbird in a Storm today!

~Synopsis~

“If you loved Peaky Blinders and Outlander then you’re in the right place.”

Enemies become lovers when a modern woman is ripped from her life and thrown back to the roaring twenties where she must learn to navigate gangsters and organised crime if she is to survive.

London paramedic, Roseanna Chapman, has her hands full. But when she is cast back in time and witnesses a murder, she finds herself stranded and in danger.

In 1921, Daniel Alderman’s a feared and ruthless gangster. He must rely on Roseanna to find his brother’s killer, but with her hiding so many secrets, can he trust her?

The two connect as a race against time ensues, but as their feelings intensify, so does the threat against Roseanna’s life.

Can they navigate time and tragedy together or will their love become another cautionary tale of days gone by?

** A perfect book for fans of Diana Gabaldon, Mariah Stone, Trinity Dunn, and Diana Knightley. **

One click now to enter a riveting world of romance, secrets and the quest for home.

Ophelia Lockheart lives in south England with her two dogs, husband and three children.

She’s a huge fan of powerful, cranky men with hearts-of-gold and chivalrous values who’ll do anything for the sassy, independent women who own their hearts.

With plenty of suspense, swoon-worthy storylines, and enough sizzle to set your hearts on fire, you can rest assured that if you’re reading one of Ophelia’s books, you’re putting your time into just the right tale!

Follow on FB: https://www.facebook.com/OpheliaLockheartAuthor

MAILING LIST SIGN UP: https://mailchi.mp/e02be524e985/please-subscribe-here

Insta https://www.instagram.com/ophelialockheart

TikTok: @ophelialockheart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s