Author Spotlight · Interview with an Author

Interview with an Author featuring Emily James

The Literary Vixen presents…

 

Joining us today is Emily James! Author of The Love in Short series .

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Hi!

I’m Emily James, author of spicy romantic comedy books.

As a mother of three humans and two fur babies, life is very busy but writing helps keep me (semi) sane.  I’ve written ten romcoms and have many more planned. 

I love food (though my skills in the kitchen are average at best—I once accidentally baked a pair of kitchen scissors), crafting, and changing the colour scheme of our home not less than annually (which drives my poor hubs utterly bonkers with all the added DIY it adds to his list). 

Mostly, I can be found going on long walks with our dogs along the Jurassic Coast near our house in the south of England or devouring books on the patio in our garden (when the wet British weather allows) or jotting down plots in my impressive collection of notebooks (more than 100!). 

I adore hearing from readers and can be found on FB, Insta and TikTok.

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been plotting books my whole life and have journals filled with story ideas but the first finished story I remember was one I wrote in middle school. My main character was Tammie Tomato and it was about her capers in the supermarket after closing time. Honestly, it was pretty terrible so these days I stick to writing about real women and their hot love interests.

Describe a typical writing day.

After I have delivered my children at their various schools, I make a huge cup of tea and sit at my desk with Smooth Radio playing in the background. On my best days, 10,000 words will fly from my fingers as if by magic, other days it’s more like 2,000. Thankfully I have not yet been hit by the dreaded writer’s block.

Where do you get your inspiration for your books?

I am fortunate to live in a culture rich part of the world which is a mix of rural and urban. From Stone Henge, to Corfe Castle and beautiful beaches, busy towns and idyllic countryside, cool settings are literally at my fingertips. 
People fascinate me and the more eccentric or unusual they are, the more I like them. I’m also naturally quite curious (aka nosey 😜). I devour conversations, television and social media like a starved woman at a buffet. I’m constantly asking “what if” and like to inject crazy scenarios into the mundane—the more madcap the better! 
What do you hope your readers take away from this book?
My books are all feel good fun with spicy, flirtatious romance at their hearts. Mostly, I hope they lift some of life’s stress away and leave a smile on my readers lips.
What is the significance of the title?
The titles to my books are all a fun nudge in the direction of my favourite question, “what if…”
If you had to describe yourself in three words, what would they be?
Fun, mischievous and a little loopy 🤪
What was the highlight of writing this book?
When a person reaches out to tell me my book made them laugh out loud or they leave a review that says they swooned or had All. The. Feels, I’m elated. There is no better feeling in the world. 
Are you working on anything at the present you would like to share with me?
I’m in the early stages of plotting a small town romcom series with interconnected characters. It’s going to be super hot and funny but it’s too early to give you much dirt at the moment. Watch this space!
What advice would you give to other authors?
Keep going! It sometimes feels like a lonely trip in which you spend long hours talking to yourself but holding your finished book in your hands is worth all the tears.
What is the one thing you want people to know about you and your books?
I bring the fun 🤩! My books are a lighthearted, romantic flash of respite in a sometimes stressful and too serious world.

 

Thank you Emily James for chatting with me! I will include her information down below. Check out her books today!


~Synopsis~

10 Dates

When Joanie’s flaky fiancé puts their wedding on the back burner, her friends take matters into their own hands. Ten blind dates in as many days seems like an outrageous idea — but is it just zany enough to help Joanie find true love?

10 Dares

When Melinda’s stress starts to get the better of her, her friends come up with an idea to put the fun back into friendship — but will ten dares help her loosen up and find love, or might they just send her over the edge?

10 Lies

When Katie wins a luxury holiday, she figures a little R & R time is just what she needs.

Enter Jackson Quinn, the hot doctor who she’ll probably never see again. There’s no harm in a few tall tales told to a holiday fling, is there?

Until he shows up on her home turf.

Can Katie cover her tracks or will Jackson be her undoing?

THE POWER OF TEN is a three book collection of hilarious romantic comedies that grab you by the collar and don’t let go. They are best enjoyed by readers over the age of 18 due to mature content.

Readers who like Christina Hovland, Meghan Quinn, and Susan Elizabeth Phillips will LOVE Emily James.

Some say Emily James is a British author who writes fun and sexy romance novels. Others say she is utterly bonkers and should pipe down a bit. No matter which camp you’re in, no one can deny that a little love and laughter makes every day better so if you haven’t tried her work yet, give it a go. It might just leave you with a smile on your face and a puddle in your pants!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tendates

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emily_james_author/

TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@emilyjamesauthor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s