These Vengeful Hearts by Katherine Laurin – My Review

Title: These Vengeful Hearts

Author: Katherine Laurin

Release Date: September 8th 2020

Genre: Young Adult

A thrilling novel about a secret society and the dangers that lie in wait for anyone brave enough to join—perfect for fans of Karen M. McManus, Kara Thomas, and Maureen Johnson.

Whenever something scandalous happens at Heller High, the Red Court is the name on everyone’s lips. Its members deal out social ruin and favors in equal measure, their true identities known only by their leader: the Queen of Hearts.

Ember Williams has seen firsthand the damage the Red Court can do. Now, she’s determined to hold the organization accountable by taking it down from the inside. But will the cost of revenge be more than she’s willing to sacrifice?

Between the cover and the blurb, I was excited to read this book. A secret society? Yes, please! The story takes place in a high school setting. We meet Ember who has plans on taking down the Red Court. Can she pull it off?

I had really high hopes for this read. It was all there but it didn’t quite deliver. There were a lot of places where I was kind of bored. The story is good but I wish there was a bit more darkness to it. Again, this is just my opinion. The characters were good. I had some favorites. I really liked that they had more to them than at first glance. Some of them even surprised me towards the end! I wasn’t sure how I felt about the ending but there was one aspect of it that I really liked and it had me fist pumping and saying “Yes!”. Yes, I totally did it. 

As a whole, this is a good book. I would recommend to friends. I just needed more. If there is a second, I would love to read it because I am invested in some of these characters. I give this 3 stars. 

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion*

About theliteraryvixen

My name is Laura and I am a Makeup Junkie, Book Dragon, Blogger, Beta Reader, and PA I’ve always loved both books and makeup. I’m always reading at least two or three books at any given time. Email: theliteraryvixen@gmail.com View all posts by theliteraryvixen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: