New Release · Review

The Shadow’s Heir (The Cursed Queens Book 2) by E.E. Hornburg – My Review


Title: The Shadow’s Heir (The Cursed Queens Book 2)

Author: E.E. Hornburg

Release Date: May 17th 2022

Genre: Fantasy, Retellings

Myra has spent years hiding—in servitude of the now imprisoned Queen Amelia, and from a lineage she never wanted.

Now that she is freed from Amelia’s clutches, Myra is ready for a new start, but the echoes of the past, and the truth of who she is—a direct descendant of Stula, the goddess of death—will only disrupt the peace she wants to find in the kingdom of Oxare.

The kingdom is beautiful, as is the handsome prince Alvis and though his offer to join him at the Golden Palace is tempting, Myra is determined to make her own way.

But when a life on her own becomes too difficult, Myra is forced to accept Alvis’ offer and lands in the thick of a plot to free Queen Amelia. To keep the entire realm and her people safe, Myra and Alvis must find out who among the Golden Palace court is the betrayer before Amelia escapes.

But with each passing day Myra feels her connection to Alvis growing stronger, and her past continues to haunt her. Can they protect the kingdom and each other, before Amelia takes her revenge and Alvis finds out the truth?

Fans of Sarah J Maas, Hannah Whitten, and Emma Hamm will love this magical Cinderella retelling and follow up to The Night’s Chosen!

Fantastic world building! Mystery and deception. People are more than what they seem.

I could not put this book down! I was totally captivated right from the start. I knew that Myra and Alvis’ story was going to be truly special and I was not disappointed! The characters added color and flavor to the story. Unique in their own way. Loved how witty most of them were. The playful banter put a smile on my face. Can we befriend fictional characters? That’s truly how I felt with some of them. With the magical word weaving from Miss Hornburg, I was able to easily imagine the sounds and sights of another world. I loved the connection between Alvis and Myra. A slow burn kind of dance. That ending has me wanting more! I need book three ASAP!

This is a series I highly recommend and has fast become a favorite of mine. Enjoy retellings with a twist? These books are for you. Take a chance. You won’t be disappointed! I give this 5 stars. 

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion*